In honor of Valentine’s Day, lets talk about the five love languages! Everyone has their own love language, which is just how people prefer communicate with their significant others.

1. Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation express love using sincere words and explaining why you love someone. “I love you,” om an important phrase in words of affirmation but also explaining why you love your significant other is important to him/her.


  • Encouraging your significant other
  • Notes of appreciation and love
  • Complimenting them

2. Physical Touch

In this love language, your presence is important. This a way of physically showing your significant other that you love them.


  • Holding Hands
  • Hugging
  • Kissing

3. Acts of Service

This love language looks at what you do for your significant other. The things you do to lessen the responsibilities or the burden of said responsibilities on your significant other means a lot.


  • Doing the laundry
  • Picking up groceries
  • Fixing things around the house/apartment

4. Receiving Gifts

The gifts and gestures are what matter in this love language. These gifts and gestures show that your significant other is loved and cared for. He/She thrives on the thoughtfulness and effort behind a visual representation of your love for him/her.


  • Flowers
  • Jewelry
  • Trip to one of their favorite places or somewhere they have wanted to go

5. Quality Time

This love language is all about the time you spend with one another. Spending time together and having your full, undivided attention is simply all someone with this love language asks. When this is someone’s love language it is best to turn off the phones and just talk to them.


  • Going for a walk to talk about the day
  • Cooking together
  • Thoughtful date night for the two of you

As you can see, the love languages are all very different. You can be one or a combination of multiple love languages, as I know I am. To take the 5 Love Languages quiz by clicking here! It is important to know what you like best and what your spouse like best in a relationship to effectively communicate. Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!